Has Digital Media Ruined the Comic Experience?

By: Christopher Johnson

(DISCLAIMER:I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH COMICS EXPLAINED OR COMICSTORIAN.I AM SIMPLY USING THEIR CHANNELS AS AN EXAMPLE. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND YOU VIEW THEIR CONTENT IF YOU HAVE TIME.)

Introduction/Definitions!

In this new segment, I aspire to discuss a single question by giving reasons for all sides to the answer. A majority of these will stem from past articles written. This question is from “Comic Discussions: Print vs. Digital” but before we look into the answer we need to define what I mean by “Digital Media” and “Comic Experience”.

By “Digital Media” I am referring to YouTube channels such as “Comics Explained” and “Comicstorian”. Also comic book review sites such as “Comicbookresourses.com, Newsarama.com and Comicvine.com. I am not referring to the ability to read comics from a digital device. By “Comic Experience” I am referring to the experience of reading comic books whether by print or digital. Without further ado, let’s start the discussion…

Yes!

You could say it has to due to certain content these content creators produce. The content I am referring to is none other than “Complete Stories”. These type of videos can encourage you not to buy a certain series because you can just experience the story and art without paying for it. This ruins the comic experience because it persuades you not to read those stories and in a way it cheapens what it means to like comic books but if handled properly the experience is not deminished. Let me expain.

No!

In the same way this can be a good thing. Comic books are higher priced more than ever and the prices keep raising. Videos like that are a good way to keep track of the stories without having to buy all the issues and the comic experience is not lost as long as you keep reading what you can afford and keep track of what you can’t.

Conclusion:

Personally, I prefer print but in this ever changing world, adapting to how the comic industry is changing is almost mandatory. I do not think the comic experience is lost as long as comics are still being bought. Some people say comicbooks are a dying medium but I wonder if the medium was ever alive. I believe the industry will die if people rely on these “complete story” series and do not buy the books for themselves. I should end this by saying the channel “Comicstorian” does encourage its viewers to buy the books themselves so, I’m not bashing them at all.

Basing an article off of a single point is new territory for me but if you enjoy this please let me know. If you would like to know when new articles are posted you can “like” Comic Conversations” on Facebook or follow me on twitter @Cjohnson0545. New articles will be posted on both social media accounts.

This entry was posted in How I Think About.... and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

