Individualization Featuring New Avengers 5 & 6

DISCLAIMER: This is a series written by Al Ewing. All characters are owned by Marvel Comics. Thoughts are all mine.

IndividNAV56

Thoughts by: Christopher Johnson

Story by: Al Ewing

Art by: Gerardo Sandoval

 

Story:

The story begins by flash-forwarding to the year 20XX and we see a future avengers team made up of: Danielle Cage as Captain America, Marvel Woman,  Iron Mariner, Thor Odinson, Madame Natasha, Collapser, King Hulk, Namorina , and Vision. We also see Wiccan who has been completely taken over by Moridun and has unlimited power. He kills Thor then Danielle says they need to go back to where it all began. We then return to the current time and see some of the New Avengers fighting the Maker’s forces. The future avengers go back into the past thanks to a screw-up by Squirrel Girl, and the two teams argue over the life of Wiccan until Moridun reveals himself several years earlier than he intended therefore he is much weaker and is easily defeated.

 

Positives:

  • I have a soft spot for stories that include alternate realities and this is no exception. The story here really builds upon the last few issues and the writer does an excellent job in showing what could happen if Moridun isn’t stopped and he explains why Moridun is stopped so easily. I would normally complain, saying a villain who is called the “Ghost Wizard of the Fifth Cosmos”, and apparently becomes unstoppable, is defeated with just a few words. This is explained because the seeds he had planted in Wiccan’s mind just hasn’t been there long enough to really take total control over him yet. To me this is a very logical reason for him to be taken down.

 

  • Honestly, I feel the art really compliments the story. I had my doubts about the art in the first 4 issues, but here I began to warm up to the art. The colors match with the overall tone of the issues and it is enjoyable to look at even if a couple faces look off putting, but that comes with Sandoval’s art.

 

  • I really like how they handled the relationship between Billy and Ted. I may not have understood it at the time, but putting all the focus on those two allowed for a larger emotional impact. If they had other characters shine in one of the earlier issues, then these two issues would feel like they forced a story that was never built up. Since, they did put more focus on Wiccan and Hulkling, the emotional impact felt natural.
  • The humor once again was on the mark. Squirrel Girl really brings it in the best of way, but I do question why Sunspot allowed a squirrel to be in charge of plugging in the wires. Unless he just had Squirrel Girl plug in the wires and she commanded Tippy-Toe to do the job instead.

 

Negatives:

  • There really was not too much wrong with this issue, one thing thing I felt was off was just spots in the art, but it really was not a big deal.
  • To me the most major problem with the issues was the villain. Yes, I gave my thoughts on how the defeat was logical, but I still have problems with it. If Moridun is weak enough to be defeated by a few simple words, then why did a strike from Hulkling’s sword not kill him in issues 3 and 4? I just it did and he had laid some kind of egg in the min of Wiccan, but I just find it strange how a few words and the right mindset can defeat Moridun.At this point, I want him to return so I can be satisfied with how he is defeated because at this point, I am not.
  • Yes, I liked the appearance of the future Avengers, but I felt two issues were just too short. At some points the pacing felt rushed. Maybe if there had been one issue that spent the entire time in the future so we would be able to meet these guys and really get to know them. Sure, we get a sneak peek at their personalities and that is nice, but it is not enough.I want to be able to know more about these people, build the world around these guys so we can know what it is like, did Moridun hide inside Billy’s mind or did he slowly take control throughout the years. This is something that genuinely bugged me.

 

Conclusion:

Overall, these two issues were good. I enjoyed what Ewing did and thought the book was much better than I anticipated after I read issue 1. This series did not conclude and is still being released. I will not stop this review and will review issue 7 by itself as soon as I am able. If you would like to know when the review is released, feel free to follow Cjohnson0545 on Twitter or “like” Comic Conversations on Facebook.

 

Issue 5: 8.00

Issue 6: 8.25

This entry was posted in Individualization, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

